1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved IE cannot open page xpsp3res.dll dnserror.htm

Discussion in 'Internet Explorer & Microsoft Edge' started by LarryB, 2009/07/04.

  1. 2009/07/04
    LarryB

    LarryB Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/09
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I recently performed a clean reinstalled of XP Pro and put everything back just the way it was. Same version of IE, too, IE6. Everything is great and fully updated except that some web pages give me the following message:
    "Internet Explorer cannot open the internet site.... " <website address> Operation Aborted
    and the status bar says:
    opening page res://c:\windows\sytem32\xpsp3res.dll/dnserror.htm.... "

    This particular page and others used to open without a problem and I cannot seem to find any info on the cause of this. With Google if found references to Active X issues and I've already checked my ActiveX files and all are ok and updated.

    Thanks, Lar
     
    Last edited: 2009/07/04
  2. 2009/07/04
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,653
    Likes Received:
    477
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Hi Larry. Have you tried opening IE and going to Tools<Manage Add-ons and disabling all addons? Do those websites open properly now? Try also removing all your Temorary Internet Files and see if it makes any difference.

    Also you are behind the times running IE6. Try updating to Internet Explorer 8 and see if it resolves your issue. Download Internet Explorer 8.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2009/07/04
    LarryB

    LarryB Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/09
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hi Evan, I did disable the add-ons and rebooted and cleaned up IE but to no benefit.

    Anyway, since IE6 did not do this before my reinstall, I don't think that the version really matters.

    I know that I am stuck in my old ways but I just like IE6. How about a compromised to IE7? :D
     
  5. 2009/07/04
    broni

    broni Moderator Malware Analyst

    Joined:
    2002/08/01
    Messages:
    21,547
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Daly City, CA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    See, if your computer date/time is correct.
     
  6. 2009/07/04
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,653
    Likes Received:
    477
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    You can try updating to IE7 and see if there is any difference. Other than changing IE versions I don't know what else could be the cause of your problem. :(
     
  7. 2009/07/04
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,950
    Likes Received:
    380
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Arie,
    #6
  8. 2009/07/04
    Arie

    Arie Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/27
    Messages:
    14,950
    Likes Received:
    380
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Also, I would suggest upgrading to at least IE7, but better IE8. Those browsers are more secure than the now ancient IE6!
     
    Arie,
    #7
  9. 2009/07/05
    LarryB

    LarryB Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/09
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Acc to Systray, unfortunately, they are perfect.

    I will try to update to IE7 later. Thanks!!
     
  10. 2009/07/11
    LarryB

    LarryB Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/09
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Well, I updated to IE7 and the problem has ceased! I had also started noting that some websites were stating that "you have IE6 and our support of that browser will soon cease ". Talk about motivation to upgade??? It worked for me!

    I still prefer the lean interface of IE6 but I do like the improved print functions of IE7.

    Thanks to all!
     
  11. 2009/07/11
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,653
    Likes Received:
    477
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Your Welcome. Glad you were able to get your problem resolved. :)
     
  12. 2009/07/11
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,720
    Likes Received:
    366
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    I've marked this thread as 'Resolved', please see .....
     

Share This Page