1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved IE 11 freezing or crashing..

Discussion in 'Internet Explorer & Microsoft Edge' started by jimbo0706, 2017/03/03.

  1. 2017/03/03
    jimbo0706

    jimbo0706 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/06/08
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Some wear in Texas
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I am having a lot of issues with IE 11 in windows 10.. I have done every thing I can think of and even ran IE with out add on`s and even reset it and when I go to click on it it takes forever to load or just freezes up. Then when I click to close out of it I get it encountered an error and needs to shut down. Also when this happens my cpu will jump up to about 50% or so.. I have also turned it off and back on in windows features.. I have ran virus scans and spyware and malware scans and all comes up clean.. Any ideas what is goin on ?
     
  2. 2017/03/03
    Bill

    Bill Geek Member WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,369
    Likes Received:
    237
    Trophy Points:
    593
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    I have been a long time supporter and avid user of IE so it pains to say you might want to look around for a different browser. I have no proof but I fear you are experiencing what Microsoft wants you to experience for those problems started happening to me too when I migrated my systems to W10. And it seems no matter what I did, they kept getting worse and worse. Again, no proof but I fear MS is slowly breaking IE (or at least not keeping it current).

    I suspect this is Microsoft's way of enticing :rolleyes: users to Edge. Sadly, Edge is no substitute for IE. I am currently going back and forth between Chrome and Pale Moon.

    If you find a fix, please share it. I sure would like to go back to IE. In the meantime, the best I can suggest is for you to run System File Checker. It seemed to help a little for little while. Open an elevated command prompt, enter sfc /scannow and press enter.
     
    Bill,
    #2

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/03/03
    jimbo0706

    jimbo0706 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/06/08
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Some wear in Texas
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Sounds about right.. Been searching all over for a fix and every thing I have tried will work for maybe 2 or 3 clicks and then it starts freezing up. But if I do find some thing that does work I will be sure to let you all know..
     
  5. 2017/03/04
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,514
    Likes Received:
    469
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Hi jimbo0706. Does IE11 work normally if you perform a clean boot in Windows 10?
     
  6. 2017/03/04
    jimbo0706

    jimbo0706 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/06/08
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Some wear in Texas
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Trying that now.
     
  7. 2017/03/04
    jimbo0706

    jimbo0706 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/06/08
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Some wear in Texas
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    It did not help. Did good for about 15min then started getting slower and slower then just froze up..
     
  8. 2017/03/05
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,514
    Likes Received:
    469
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Lets make sure there is no corruption in the file system.

    Click Start< type Command Prompt in the Start search box, right click on Command Prompt and click on Run as administrator. After the Command Prompt window opens, type chkdsk C: /r and hit enter. Type Y to confirm that you want to schedule a Check Disk to run on the next restart. After the Check Disk has been scheduled, close the Command Prompt window and reboot the computer to allow Check Disk to run.

    Then lets see what is starting up with your machine.

    Please download Autoruns. After you download the zipped folder on your desktop, right click the zipped folder and click Extract All. After the folder has been extracted open the regular folder. Run the autoruns.exe program by right clicking on it and selecting Run as administrator. When you open the program, click the Logon Tab and then post a screenshot of all the startup entries on the Logon Tab in your next reply.
     
  9. 2017/03/06
    jimbo0706

    jimbo0706 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/06/08
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Some wear in Texas
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    ok running the scan now..
     
  10. 2017/03/07
    jimbo0706

    jimbo0706 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/06/08
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Some wear in Texas
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    here is my auto run..
     

    Attached Files:

  11. 2017/03/07
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,514
    Likes Received:
    469
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    In Autoruns remove the following items:

    MSI True Color
    Nahimic2UILauncher
    Realtek HD Audio Manager
    SCM
    ShadowPlay
    CyberLink YouCam Service
    Microsoft OneDrive
    Skype
    Steel Series Engine 3
    Windows Mail (Both Entries)

    Reboot the computer after removing those entries and let me know if there is any change.

    Also do you have any use for Java that's on your machine? If not then I would recommend that you remove it from your computer.
     
  12. 2017/03/08
    jimbo0706

    jimbo0706 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/06/08
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Some wear in Texas
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I do use java in internet explorer for weather related software. But I got rid of every thing you said but the java.. will give it a little bit and report back..
     
  13. 2017/03/09
    jimbo0706

    jimbo0706 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/06/08
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Some wear in Texas
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Ok so far so good..
     
  14. 2017/03/09
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,514
    Likes Received:
    469
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Test IE11 for another day or two and report back and let me know how its running.
     
  15. 2017/03/12
    jimbo0706

    jimbo0706 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/06/08
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Some wear in Texas
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Ok all is good. Still running fine..
     
  16. 2017/03/12
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,514
    Likes Received:
    469
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Ok cool. So would you consider this issue resolved then?
     
  17. 2017/03/15
    jimbo0706

    jimbo0706 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/06/08
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Some wear in Texas
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    yes.. I will mark it solved. thank you so much for your help..
     
  18. 2017/03/16
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,514
    Likes Received:
    469
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    You are welcome. :)
     

Share This Page