1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved [Identifying Seagate HD: ST3500641AS or ST500DM002-1BC142?]

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by gary7, 2012/03/07.

  1. 2012/03/07
    gary7

    gary7 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/03/12
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Macomb, MI.
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    Bought a Seagate ST3500641AS as a replacement, I was backed up with Paragon so everything is up and running, thanks to my nephew, he's the guru I am the student.

    I would ask him to explain, but he is very busy and already spent a lot of time with me. I don't mind looking around myself for answers, that's half the fun.

    I actually bought two, had an empty bay. One of course is for C: the other HD is going to be for, Raid mirror, Seagate clone or, Paragon system bu.

    I am using Paragon 10 to BU the files now in the 2nd HDD until I make up my mind.

    My question is when I look at the HDD's in Device Manager they are listed as:
    ST500DM002-1BC142, not ST3500641AS.

    Is this just how the computer reads them, or are they different products packaged as ST3500641AS and really ST500DM002-1BC142.

    I have been Googling this question and have not found a answe

    I realize it's no big deal, but I would like to know.

    I do have other question, regarding partitioning, and the pros and con's of the type of back up system to use as mentioned above, that will be in another post...

    Regards Gary
     
    Last edited: 2012/03/07
  2. 2012/03/08
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,462
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Hi Gary, are the drives recognized in BIOS?
    It might pay to disconnect one drive and Start the comp and check in BIOS to see the Details.
    Shut down and then connect the other Drive and Start and check again in BIOS to see how they are recognized.
    They should both work OK but it may be necessary to visit your Motherboard maker for any Updated BIOS.

    I just found this in Seagate web site : http://seagate.custkb.com/seagate/crm/selfservice/search.jsp?DocId=168595&Hilite=
    It's to do with Bios Recognition and set up with SATA drives. Neil.
     
    Last edited: 2012/03/08
    mattman likes this.

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2012/03/09
    mattman

    mattman Inactive Alumni

    Joined:
    2002/06/10
    Messages:
    8,198
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    618
    Location:
    Sydney, Aust
    Computer Experience:
    working backwards
    Yes, check how they are listed in the BIOS.

    I would see if there was a firmware update:
    http://www.seagate.com/ww/v/index.j...toid=3b17fbbad0f89210VgnVCM1000001a48090aRCRD

    The other areas I would check would be that a good set of SATA Controller drivers were installed (check at the motherboard manufacturer's website). Also, have you started making any RAID setup? That might be involved.

    If the drives are not showing a proper description, I would not proceed with building a RAID until I was certain.

    That is just a proviso, I have hardly worked on RAID, but I would be sure before I started.

    Matt
     
  5. 2012/03/09
    gary7

    gary7 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/03/12
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Macomb, MI.
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    Thanks, I checked in bios and saw the two ST500DM002-1BC142, not ST3500641AS was listed as active.

    Everything is working fine.
     
  6. 2012/03/10
    mattman

    mattman Inactive Alumni

    Joined:
    2002/06/10
    Messages:
    8,198
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    618
    Location:
    Sydney, Aust
    Computer Experience:
    working backwards
    It seems strange. I would expect the description should be exactly the same as you see on the label.

    They were not offered as "refurbished ", were they?

    The firmware will report the model to the BIOS, that's why I suggested checking for a firmware upgrade.

    Again, seems strange to me.

    Matt
     
  7. 2012/03/10
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced

    The "ST3500641AS" is the model number. If you look at the sticker on the top of the drive it lists the "ST500DM002" and below that the P/N: of "1BC142 "-nnn. (As well as the S/N, Firmware, Date Code etc.).

    Here are the links to a couple of example pics:
     
    gary7 likes this.
  8. 2012/03/10
    gary7

    gary7 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/03/12
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Macomb, MI.
    Computer Experience:
    Beginner
    A "ST500DM002" they are then!

    Thanks Guys.
     
  9. 2012/03/10
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,696
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced

Share This Page