1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved IDE and dll problems

Discussion in 'Legacy Windows' started by ppeetteerr, 2013/01/20.

  1. 2013/01/20
    ppeetteerr

    ppeetteerr Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2008/04/04
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hello,
    I have a pc running Windows 2000.

    I have 2x problems and am not sure if they are related.

    The first problem is, for some time whenever I start up my pc I have an error showing "The procedure Entry Point GetSystemWow64DirectoryA could not be located in the dynamic Link Library KERNAL32.dll"
    Recently while doing an email upgrade with BT (our ISP) they tried to connect remotely and could not because of a dll error.
    Following this I tried to fix this by using "run sfc /scannow" and assumed this had rectified it but after closing down and starting the pc again it opened Windows File Protection and I was requested to insert the Microsoft Windows 2000 cd which I did and it checked all the files. The problem is, I assume it has rectified the dll problem (how can I tell) but now every time I start my pc the Windows File Protection requsts the 2000cd and checksall the files again which takes ages.

    The second problem is, when looking in the Device manager, it shows the Primary and Secondary IDE channels with yellow exclamation marks and advises " To use disable one of the devices on this system ". (not sure what to do here)

    Any advise on these please
    Regards
    ppeetteerr
     
  2. 2013/01/20
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    Was this an upgrade to 2K from Win 98?
    Try uninstalling all things that have to do with Adobe. Shockwave, Flash, and reader. Then reboot and see what happens. You can install them later and I would suggest one at a time and a reboot or 2 before installing the next one.
    Not sure on the device manager problem.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2013/01/20
    ppeetteerr

    ppeetteerr Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2008/04/04
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hello Mr Bill,
    No it wasn't an upgrade to the pc as such, it was only that BT have upgraded their email service and I had to change outlook settings, which I was having a problem with so they wanted to access remotely to see if the new settings email were correct.
    Regards
    peetteerr
     
  5. 2013/01/20
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    I would still uninstall and see what happens.
     
  6. 2013/01/21
    ppeetteerr

    ppeetteerr Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2008/04/04
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hello Mr Bill,
    Just to clarify, I have got installed:
    "Adobe reader 7 ".
    "Adobe Flash Player 10 Active X ".
    "Adobe Atmosphere Player for Acrobat and Adobe Reader ".
    Should I uninstall all of them?
    Regards
    ppeetteerr
     
  7. 2013/01/21
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    Do them one at a time and see if one of them is causing the problem. Your Adobe Reader is WAY behind. They are up to XI (11.0.0.1) Flash is also up to 11 also. Update them first and see what happens.
     
  8. 2013/01/25
    ppeetteerr

    ppeetteerr Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2008/04/04
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hello,
    I have deleted all the Adobe programs and reinstalled Adobe Reader. The pc is working fine but whenever I start it I still get the Windows File Protection opening, (which I can just cancel) and I wonder could this be to do with the IDE problem I have mentioned as it requests the Windows cd but if the cd drives are not working it cannot rectify itself?
    If this may be the case I can ask a question in the hardware section.
    Your thoughts please.
    Regards
    ppeetteerr
     
  9. 2013/01/25
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
  10. 2013/01/25
    ppeetteerr

    ppeetteerr Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2008/04/04
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hello,
    Thanks for that.
    I checked that out the ms k/b and did the test they advise and it seems as if the file checker is doing what its supposed to do. However I still have the IDE problem.
    Is that a query for the hardware forum
    Rgegards
    ppeetteerr
     
  11. 2013/01/27
    ppeetteerr

    ppeetteerr Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2008/04/04
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hello,
    I have now downloaded and saved to my desktop, Adobe Flash Player but when I try to run it, I get the error message "Procedure Entry Point SetDllDirectoryW could not be located in the Dynamic Link Library KERNEL32.dll" even though I had put the winndows2000 disc in as requested by System File Checker when I restarted my pc.
    Any advise please
     
  12. 2013/02/09
    ppeetteerr

    ppeetteerr Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2008/04/04
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    hello,
    These issues have been resolved in the hardware forum.
    thanks very much
    Regards
     

Share This Page