1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved How to write a .bat file

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by BobbyScot, 2018/06/10.

  1. 2018/06/10
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    I have a software file that opens at each power up of computer. Can a .bat file be written to stop this and how can this be done?
     
  2. 2018/06/10
    SVEN

    SVEN Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2004/01/02
    Messages:
    829
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Computer Experience:
    Getting Better
    You can stop it from starting by doing this:
    Hit Ctrl Alt Del at the same time, then click on taskmanager and select Startup.
    There you can stop the program by highlighting it and click on disable
    hope this helps
    Sven
     
    SVEN,
    #2
    Admin. likes this.

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2018/06/10
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Thanks for your response, appreciated. Software in question is not shown in TaskManger - Startup,
     
  5. 2018/06/10
    jholland1964

    jholland1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2002/10/15
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    INDIANA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Is there a reason you do not want to give anybody the name of the software? That sure would help and very likely somebody would be able to solve your problem almost immediately.

    Keeping everyone guessing just slows the solutions. Some software requires very special instructions or steps in order to keep it from auto starting. Very often the startup options are within the program itself. Personally I have never heard of the need to write a .bat file in order to stop a piece of software from running at start up. I think that would be most unusual.
    Please, give us the name and version of the software.
     
    Last edited: 2018/06/10
    Admin. likes this.
  6. 2018/06/11
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    There is no intention of keeping name of Software secretive, just lack on my part forgetting to do so. Software is [uTorrent]. I have tried for sometime now, in searching a solution for stopping uTorrent from opening at each computer power up. However, there is solution in that, just to click the [x] top right of uTorrent screen at each session. jholland1964, as you state you have never heard of a .bat file and that I accept. Only of interest purposes, I came across a .bat file, but this file was not suitable as expected.

    @echo off
    tasklist /fi "name of software" | find ":" > nul
    if errorlevel 0 taskkill /f /im
    "name of software" && exit
     
  7. 2018/06/11
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    320
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
  8. 2018/06/11
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,720
    Likes Received:
    366
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Bobby - review this thread on the uTorrent forum ....

    Utorrent starting up on its own

    It's a very long thread and I haven't read it all, but a few points which came up, firstly from Microsoft .....

    MS uTorrent.JPG
    According to another post if you close uTorrent via the X in top right corner of the window it will disappear from the screen, but is not actually closed. Closing uTorrent via the menu will prevent it from appearing at Start up.

    If you insist on a ,bat file one is also listed in the thread ....
    uTorrent bat.jpg




     
  9. 2018/06/11
    jholland1964

    jholland1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2002/10/15
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    INDIANA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Also from this same thread;

    "When you hit the "X" button at the right top corner of the utorrent window, you are not actually closing the application. Clicking on the "X" button merely hides utorrent; it is still active and is running as a background process. So to prevent utorrent from starting when Windows starts, close utorrent by hitting menu item "File -- Exit". You may also right click on the utorrent icon in the notification area and press on menu item "Exit". In short, shut down utorrent before shutting down or restarting Windows.If you click on the chevron in the bottom right corner to "Show hidden icons" you will see the green circle for utorrent. Right click on it and then click on "Exit" that will close utorrent and it won't start up the next time you start your computer."

    Also this from same thread;
    "Solution is to go to UI Settings - uncheck "Close button closes uT to tray".
    Click on Options, then Preferences"

    UI Settings.JPG
     
  10. 2018/06/11
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    My thanks for your information, it is very helpful and appreciated. I am not clear on Chevron bottom right corner to show "Hidden Icons" as to where this can be found. In uTorrent Preferences I checked and changed as to what was suggested, but this had no effect.
     
    Last edited: 2018/06/11
  11. 2018/06/11
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,720
    Likes Received:
    366
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    Chevron.JPG
     
  12. 2018/06/11
    jholland1964

    jholland1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2002/10/15
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    INDIANA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Look in this file for uTorrent;
    C:\users(username)\appdata\roaming\microsoft\windows\startmenu\programs\start-up

    If you find uTorrent in that file delete it. Just that uTorrent listing. That should remove it from Startup. Close out that file and reboot the computer. Hopefully that will stop it.
     
  13. 2018/06/11
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    PeteC, thanks. No hidden Icon, or UTorrent showing. Shows Bluetooth. Malwarebyte. CCleaner. Web companion. Date & Time.
     
  14. 2018/06/11
    jholland1964

    jholland1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2002/10/15
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    INDIANA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Can I ask why you use uTorrent? This program is known to be risky and also well known to cause problems like the one you have had multiple times now over the years, at least based on your previous threads. It was suggested to you on one or more of them to get rid of uTorrent and your reply was that it was "needed for some software downloads". Sorry but that is baloney. Only software that would need uTorrent for downloading would be pirated software which is against the law.

    It is of course your own choice but no way would I continue to run a program that has caused problems on my computer for a number of years
     
    Last edited: 2018/06/11
  15. 2018/06/11
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Agree, what is the alternative software? All software is not Pirated and who can honestly say to never have downloaded anything other than legal paid for material. That day may come later rather than now. I will remove this software to become honest again.
    How is a .bat file opened for a software?
     
  16. 2018/06/11
    jholland1964

    jholland1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2002/10/15
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    INDIANA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Not sure what you mean by "what is the alternative software"? Legal software does not require a "special" program to download it. You pay the money and you download, that is it. Of course there is a lot of free software also which doesn't require payment and also does not require some sort of special software to download.

    I have used computers since before Windows 95 and I can honestly say I have never downloaded anything other than either truly free or legally paid for material and at least for the majority of people I know they have never downloaded anything other than legal and paid for material either.
    I always wonder if folks who regularly use programs like uTorrent or similar programs to illegally download what are paid programs, music, movies, etc. would also walk into a store and shoplift everything they want? Same thing as doing illegal downloading except with that you don't have to leave your house and go to a store.
    Opening a .bat file is very simple. Files with the .bat extension are executable files so all you do is double click them. Just remember, .bat files have the potential of being very dangerous to personal files and more importantly system files.
     
    Last edited: 2018/06/11
  17. 2018/06/12
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    I am having no more interest in this Post, and can say you have made me hang my weary head in shame. God be my judge, but I can honestly say have never ever shop lifted, stole from anyone in my entire life or indeed ever accused anyone of stealing or dealt unlawful acts. I do use legal free software made available, I trust this clears the air in my case. I started computing by buying the BBC Acorn and DOS software from a reputable retailer. uTorrent has now been removed from computer as an effort to redeem my good name and as you say prevent the temptation of my stealing unpaid software etc.
     
    jholland1964 likes this.
  18. 2018/06/12
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,789
    Likes Received:
    320
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Bobby, jh was pointing out that uTorrent can/is used for the purposes he outlined. He was not accusing you of acting unlawfully.
    What we have tried to point out to you is that you don't need uTorrent to Download software/programs.
    I have been downloading info for years without ever having the need for uTorrent! :)
     
    jholland1964 likes this.
  19. 2018/06/13 at 05:40
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    retiredlearner, one's thoughts should be best kept to oneself, at my age I do so. My real reason in searching for a suitable .bat file is to stop my Virginmedia HUB 3 from opening at each powerup before allowing connection to the NET. Virginmedia refuses or doesn't know solving this. File is PhoenixCtrlStart.exe, and is part of HP installed software, purchased and paid for in purchasing the computer. Solution as with Virginmedia not forth coming, though HP Forum are crying out for a solution..
     
    Last edited: 2018/06/13 at 05:48
  20. 2018/06/13 at 09:14
    jholland1964

    jholland1964 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2002/10/15
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    208
    Location:
    INDIANA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Honestly don't understand the reason for saying the problem file was uTorrent rather than saying what it really is, your Virgin3 Hub, which is your modem. That doesn't even make sense and the reason why you really couldn't get an answer that you could actually use or even assist you with your problem. Everybody is here to help but we do need to know what the real problem is in order to offer that help correctly.

    After much searching and reading on both the HP Forum and the VirginMedia Forum it does not appear that the problem lies with or is caused by the Phoenix Control Center or even have anything to do with that but is triggered by the booting of the Virgin3 Hub.

    Based on all the threads I read at the VirginMedia Forum the problem is when booting the computer and attempting to go online quickly an error is triggered saying that there is no internet service available because the modem has not fully booted up. Most people at the VirginMedia forum said this error appeared in a browser window though others said it triggered some sort of "Control Panel" window too. The error occurs because the computer cannot connect with the internet until the Hub/Modem is fully booted.

    Not sure why you turn off the modem unless it is a cost issue or something different required in Scotland that is not required in the U.S. because most all of us leave our modems turned on 24/7.

    The solution I found on more than one thread is to turn on the Hub3 First and wait until it has fully loaded and green symbols have stopped flashing and then turn on the computer. You will not receive the error.
    I just tested this with my own Modem and computer. I turned them both off and then turned them on at the same time. My computer boots very fast so I opened the browser and received the error that no internet connection was available. Why? Because my modem had not completed its boot process which takes about 2 minutes.
    Try turning on the Hub3 first. Wait a couple minutes and then turn on your computer and see what happens. Why do you feel you have to turn off the modem when you turn off the computer?
     
    Last edited: 2018/06/13 at 09:43
  21. 2018/06/13 at 13:48
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    2,026
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Jh. Solution, you read on more than one thread, was in fact one that I wrote. I was seeking a quicker solution if possible. by the use of a .bat file. Apparently by your writing, a .bat file is not the solution, that I accept, now can we leave this topic solved. Thank you, Bobby.
     
    jholland1964 likes this.

Share This Page