1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

How to change Contacts field names?

Discussion in 'Microsoft Mail (Outlook / OE / Windows Mail)' started by leemce, 2006/08/16.

1. 2006/08/16
    leemce

leemce Inactive Thread Starter

Hi, Is it possible to change the name of a field in Outlook's (2003) Contacts? For example, I would like to have a field to store some particular client information. Also (recognizing that I am an Outlook newbie; fresh in from Eudora) I have followed the instructions for creating a new field but, after doing that, I can't find that the new field actually exists. Any help appreciated.

Lee

Last edited: 2006/08/16
  2. 2006/08/22
    JRosenfeld

JRosenfeld Inactive

I have Outlook 2002, but I expect it's similar in 2003.

Go to contacts folder and create a new field (I just tried, calling it Test as a text field; you say you know how to do that)
    when you OK out it shows as an additional column in the contacts folder (if not go back into customize, fields and in the Show Filelds window add it).

To edit the contents, open a particular contact, click the all fields tab, in the drop down box select User defined fields in Folder, it should now appear and you can edit the value (left click onthe value). Then save and close. The text you entered is showin in the field column for that contact.

3. to hide this advert.

4. 2006/08/22
    leemce

Thanks...but more questions

Thanks for your advice. You are right. When I selected "User defined fields in folder" the ones that I had created did show up. However, if I can carry this 2 steps further: