1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

How do I fix the red x place holders in IE?

Discussion in 'Internet Explorer & Microsoft Edge' started by OLDSALTY, 2005/02/12.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 2005/02/12
    OLDSALTY Lifetime Subscription

    OLDSALTY Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/02/21
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    I have noticed that I get a lot of place holders for something in IE with the red x.
    Version below, with an example.
    Can anyone tell me how to tune IE to eliminate these place holders?
     
    Last edited: 2006/08/20
  2. 2005/02/13
    Miz

    Miz Geek Member Alumni

    Joined:
    2002/05/02
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    368
    Location:
    S.W. Kansas
    Computer Experience:
    Lots of experiences
    Have a look through this thread and if that doesn't help, maybe you'll find something here.
     
    Miz,
    #2

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2005/02/13
    OLDSALTY Lifetime Subscription

    OLDSALTY Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/02/21
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Thanks Miz, but nothing worked. Refresh, right click and load pic, deleting ftp and http, nothing works.
    One of the MS Knowledge Base said to check the properties of the red x place holder. All of them have the same propertie, see graphic below.
    I have three computers running XP/SP2 and this is the only one that I get the red X. I have loaded Mozilla-Foxfire and do not get the red x with it.
     
    Last edited: 2006/08/20
  5. 2005/02/15
    OLDSALTY Lifetime Subscription

    OLDSALTY Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/02/21
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    I found the problem. I was having another problem with windows updates and Media Player 10. I forgot that I removed Media Player from this computer waiting for an answer from Microsoft. I can install MP 9 so I did and now all the red x's are gone.

    PS: I still can't install MP 10
     
  6. 2005/02/15
    Miz

    Miz Geek Member Alumni

    Joined:
    2002/05/02
    Messages:
    2,345
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    368
    Location:
    S.W. Kansas
    Computer Experience:
    Lots of experiences
    Thanks for posting back. I'll keep that WMP/IE graphics relationship filed away for future reference.

    Glad you got it figured out. :)
     
    Miz,
    #5
  7. 2005/02/15
    Welshjim

    Welshjim Inactive

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    5,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    606
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    Computer Experience:
    still learning
  8. 2005/02/18
    OLDSALTY Lifetime Subscription

    OLDSALTY Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/02/21
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    I have now found out that it was not caused by WMP but my Firewall software. I use eTrust from CA which is a derivative of Zone Alarm. For some reason I had the firewall off when I last posted and when it was back on I got the dreaded red x's again. So more resarch found that it was the firewall. So my previous discovery was in error. Thanks to Welshjim for the link that had the answer in one of the search results.
     
  9. 2005/02/18
    Welshjim

    Welshjim Inactive

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    5,643
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    606
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM, USA
    Computer Experience:
    still learning
    OLDSALTY--Thanks for posting back and telling us what worked.
    The reasons for RedX are numerous. Here is just a small sample
    http://support.microsoft.com/?scid=kb;EN-US;Q283807
    You have added a new one.
    Basically a RedX appears where an image should be. Much of the time those images are ads, but sometimes they are something you want to see.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page