1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Graphics Card Issues

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by jimbo0706, 2017/08/05.

  1. 2017/08/05
    jimbo0706

    jimbo0706 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/06/08
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Some wear in Texas
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Is there a way to tell if one of my graphics cards is going bad ? I play 2 games and seems that one of them at the sign in screen I will get flickering and no problems with the other one. There both downloaded games. The one I seem to be having problems with is called Utherverse and the one I don't is 2nd Life.. Both my graphics cards say there running fine.. Any ideas what could be going on ?
     
  2. 2017/08/05
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,467
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Are they separate cards or is one builtin?
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/08/05
    jimbo0706

    jimbo0706 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/06/08
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Some wear in Texas
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    its a laptop msi ge72 2qd and it came with 2 one built in I think is the intel hd graphics 5600 and the 2nd 1 is a NVidia geforce gtx 960m
     
  5. 2017/08/05
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,467
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    From MSI laptop test:
    If you can select either manually - surely you can find which is failing?
     
  6. 2017/08/06
    jimbo0706

    jimbo0706 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/06/08
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Some wear in Texas
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    It was not switching automatically and think that was the problem.. I was playing 2nd life about 2 hours ago and when I started the game up I got a notice from 2nd life that my graphics card was changed from the intel one to the Geforce one never got that notice before on this laptop. So I decided to go back to the game I was having issues with and works fine now. I did not know you could switch manually. I found out how to and have all my games set to the GeForce and all the basic internet stuff set to intel.. thanks for the help retiredlearner..
     
  7. 2017/08/06
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,467
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Thanks for letting us know you're a happy gamer again.;) If you think this is Resolved - please mark this on your Thread.:cool:
     
  8. 2017/08/07
    Admin.

    Admin. Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Computer Experience:
    ***
    Please mark your thread as 'Resolved'.

     

Share This Page