1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Firefox You tube videos have no sound

Discussion in 'Firefox, Thunderbird & SeaMonkey' started by jorjab, 2017/10/11.

  1. 2017/10/11
    jorjab Lifetime Subscription

    jorjab Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/07/25
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Firefox V54.01

    Lately when I play a youtube video I get no sound. Video portion is fine. I can see and hear the same videos on Chrome and IE with no difficulty.
    Windows 7 latest updates applied.
    I know I don't have the latest version of Firefox but the newer versions have messed up all my add-ons.
     
  2. 2017/10/11
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,697
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    Disable all adds, don't uninstall them. Once all disabled see if youtube sound works. Then enable addons ONE at a time until the culprit is found. Problems like this are most usually caused by addons or extensions, even malware extensions. If no joy doing the above, start a new post in the malware forum.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/10/11
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,358
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Have you checked your FF version? I'm on Version 56.
     
  5. 2017/10/12 at 08:06
    jorjab Lifetime Subscription

    jorjab Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/07/25
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Thanks, Ok will try this later today and let u know what happens
     
  6. 2017/10/12 at 08:08
    jorjab Lifetime Subscription

    jorjab Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/07/25
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    yes, I know I don't have latest version, but see my original comment re why that version. Also, it used to work with this version of Firefox. The problem just suddenly popped up so could be, as suggested, one of my add-ons
     
  7. 2017/10/15 at 16:40
    jorjab Lifetime Subscription

    jorjab Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/07/25
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    I disabled all add-ons. That made no difference. Will start a new post as suggested
     
  8. 2017/10/15 at 18:35
    jorjab Lifetime Subscription

    jorjab Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/07/25
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Not sure what problem is but do not think it is malware. Problem is just not addons.
     
  9. 2017/10/16 at 00:13
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,358
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate

    See if this works.
     
    jorjab likes this.
  10. 2017/10/16 at 06:08
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,697
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    Unlikely that Windows Audio service is at fault because by default it is Started and set to Automatic. If it is not running then *something* else is stopping it, possible malware or corrupted system files.
     
    jorjab likes this.
  11. 2017/10/16 at 08:56
    jorjab Lifetime Subscription

    jorjab Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2004/07/25
    Messages:
    329
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Thank You Retired learner "See if this works. " !!!!! Just one simple stop and start and now it works. :)

     
  12. 2017/10/16 at 23:34
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,358
    Likes Received:
    294
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Nice to see it did work. ;)
     

Share This Page