1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Failed to install ISKernel Files

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by DPI Graphics, 2016/01/15.

  1. 2016/01/15
    DPI Graphics

    DPI Graphics Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/06/12
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Computer Experience:
    experienced
    When I try to start Corel Draw Suite, I get the message "Failed to install ISKernel Files" but if I execute the user file Corel works. This is crazy. Now I assume I can perform either/or both of the repair win10 & the make win10 work like win7.
    Is this true & if so, which should I perform 1st?
    Thanks a lot DPI
     
  2. 2016/01/15
    Steve R Jones

    Steve R Jones SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    11,848
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Did you google -> Failed to install ISKernel Files and see all of the hits?

    Is there more to the error like-> Make sure you have the appropriate privileges on this machine.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2016/01/15
    DPI Graphics

    DPI Graphics Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/06/12
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Computer Experience:
    experienced
    Yes there is "Make sure you have the appropriate privileges on this machine. ".
    I have not googled it. The first place that I looked was here. The both interested me so I thought I would check them out. As far as privileges is concerend, it makes no sence to me because if I open a file the app executes. If I try to execute the app by itsself, I don't have the privileges. That's a bug! I'll google it but it seems that I will still need to perform one or bothe of these procedures. I just don't know which one & in what order if I need to do them both. thanks DPI.
     
  5. 2016/01/15
    DPI Graphics

    DPI Graphics Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/06/12
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Computer Experience:
    experienced
    I ran the compatibility app & it worked once then no more. Am I going to have to go thru this every time I use Corel(many times a day)?

    Things were working good until MS did the last update ***** _ ***** _ *****!!!.
     
  6. 2016/01/17
    Steve R Jones

    Steve R Jones SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    11,848
    Likes Received:
    174
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    The files are sitting in a folder or desktop where your privileges work OK.

    If you look in the Properties of the shortcut for the App, it should have a Shortcut tab->Advanced button. Click on it and select Run As Admin.
     
  7. 2016/01/17
    DPI Graphics

    DPI Graphics Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/06/12
    Messages:
    283
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA
    Computer Experience:
    experienced
    I tried but it wouldn't let me so I gave up & re-installed the whole Corel Draw Suite & now it works just fine. Thanks for everything.
     

Share This Page