1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved External HD not display free space.

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by BobbyScot, 2016/01/24.

  1. 2016/01/24
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    My external 3TB HD at present showing Free space as 2.72TB and capacity 2.72TB. Drive has installed at least 10GB of files and folders. The blue indicator is no longer shown as in other HD installed at present in computer. I have formatted and reinstalled files to this HD twice in an effort to clear error.
     
  2. 2016/01/24
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,462
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Hi Bobby, I think that is normal for drive capacities to be shown in Disc Management at less than total claimed.
    My 240GB SSD is shown 222.7GB's available space. There is a total of 1300MB's shown as Recovery and Healthy.
    There is a reason for the display figures quoted and someone more Technically knowledgeable will be able to explain the reason. Neil.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2016/01/24
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,664
    Likes Received:
    363
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    When a drive is formatted a certain amount of space is taken up by the file system ....

    My 256GB SSD is shown as 238.47GB in Disk Management and my 2TB hard drives as 1863.02GB. This is as expected.

    I would say that your 3TB drive showing 2.72 TB is spot on. I don't think 10GB of data on the drive is sufficient to show the blue line you refer to - it is only 0.36% of the usable space on the drive.

    Main question is does that 10GB of data show up in Windows Explorer?
     
  5. 2016/01/24
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    lj50,
    #4
  6. 2016/01/24
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,462
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Good Link from Seagate LJ. ;) I have read the info before and just accepted the figures shown in Disc Management as correct/normal. Neil.
     
  7. 2016/01/24
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    The HD icon is shown under "Computers ". My other external HDs under "Computers" all show the correct capacity and free space available. I must agree this does not affect the working of this HD, but more annoying to see that the indicator fails to show remaining space available. This fault has surfaced before, but I just can not remember procedure that was undertaken to solve this issue.
     
  8. 2016/01/25
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    First go to Start\in the search box type in cmd.exe right click on the entry and choose run as administrator enter this command sfc /scannow then press enter. Did you post that problem before on windowsbbs.com, if so click on your membership user name just above the website's menu bar it shows Welcome, BobbyScot then click on Show All Statistics\Find all threads started by BobbyScot or if can remember the thread title search the website or the(eg. Windows 7 etc.)forum where you started that particular thread.
     
    Last edited: 2016/01/25
    lj50,
    #7
  9. 2016/01/25
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Thanks for your response. I will certainly try out your suggestion. Yes, I requested this help factor on Windows BBS a few years back, and searched before this current request for help.
     
  10. 2016/01/25
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    As suggested, ran a sfc /scannow, result showed that no error was found.
    Unable to locate a past posting by me, of External HD not show free space.
     
  11. 2016/01/27
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    No apparent solution for the present.
     
  12. 2016/01/27
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,462
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Hi Bobby, This may or may not be of any help, but users were having trouble with 3TB drives only showing 2TB's.
    Thanks to 'thepeglegpete' in Tom's Hardware site:
    It might be worth investigating GPARTED and see if that will help you. Neil.
     
  13. 2016/01/27
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Hi retiredlearner, checked Device Manager and found HD is WD manufactured. Capacity : 2861556MB. Unallocated : 2MB. Information seems to be inaccurate as desktop states as 2.72TB free space, when at least 10GB of files are installed on the said HD.
     
  14. 2016/01/27
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
  15. 2016/01/28
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Yes it appears to be the same 3TB HD. Error must have been sorted, as the HD worked satisfactory for many months, until error repeated again recently.
     
  16. 2016/01/28
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Glad it's fixed and thanks for the update.
     
  17. 2016/01/28
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    Sorry in misleading, the HD in question still has the error. What was misleading is, error was rectified a few months back, but same error is again prominent and sorry to say that I have no clue how to solve it.
     
  18. 2016/01/28
    lj50 Lifetime Subscription

    lj50 SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2003/07/04
    Messages:
    2,800
    Likes Received:
    137
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    USA, Earth
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced Learner
    Didn't mean to jump the gun. Sorry about that.
     
  19. 2016/01/29
    Admin.

    Admin. Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Computer Experience:
    ***
  20. 2016/01/29
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    I must thank you all for time taken to solve this error. HD works satisfactory except for not showing free space available and this could be said error being merely cosmetic and best ignored. What is baffling me is, why HD behaving like this over night, as far as I can remember, no action was done except to shutdown computer.
     
  21. 2016/01/29
    BobbyScot

    BobbyScot Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/09/22
    Messages:
    1,869
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    483
    Location:
    Scotland.
    Computer Experience:
    Still learning.
    I made a further check External HD in Disk Management and notice that the other Ext HDs show "Active ". HD in question shows [2794.36GB NTFS. Healthy Primary Partition but no Action]. Is failure of "Action ", reason for this error?
     

Share This Page