1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved down loading files and applications fail

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Bearclaw, 2017/04/17.

  1. 2017/04/17
    Bearclaw

    Bearclaw Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/12/09
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I get the message '.exe is not a valid Win32 application' when I try to download files/applications. This show up when I attempt to download anything it seems. I cannot seem to get this resolved.
    any ideas or suggestions would be most appreciated.

    HP 6000 64 bit Laptop
    Windows Home Premium 7
     
  2. 2017/04/17
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,713
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    Need to know:
    1. Which Web browser are you using?
    2. Are you choosing "Save file" or "Run".
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/04/18
    Bearclaw

    Bearclaw Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/12/09
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I was using Firefox when the problem first showed up. After that I have found the same situation with IE and Chrome. I have also uninstalled Firefox in hope of doing a reinstall that might 'reset' things back to a working status but alas I now cannot even download the Firefox exe.

    I think this situation may have developed after a pretty extensive Windows update but as some time had elapsed from the updates to my noticing the trouble I really can't be sure if that might be the source of troubles.
     
  5. 2017/04/18
    Bearclaw

    Bearclaw Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/12/09
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Just for informational purposes. I managed to get this problem resolved by running a Registry Cleaner. If I experience this issue again I will post it and keep it all current. Hope this might be of use to others.
     
  6. 2017/04/18
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,461
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    FWIW, when you installed Firefox originally, did you RUN or SAVE the Mozilla download? If you saved the download, it should be in your Download Folder. You can always install from that and update once it's running OK. ;)
     
  7. 2017/04/18
    Bearclaw

    Bearclaw Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/12/09
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Thanks for the information, In my situation there was no option to do a save, once I clicked on the link it came back with the 'invalid' message. There is one particular exe. file I am not able to get a usable copy of although it seems to download just fine but gives me the message 'exe. .... could not be saved because the source file could not be read'. I believe this is a message generated when there is an incomplete or corrupt file. Still working on finding a different source for the desired application.
     
  8. 2017/04/18
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,461
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    If you Download from Mozilla you have SAVE as your only option. This a Binary file and every time I've used it, it is saved in my Download Folder. I have Firefox 52.0 in Downloads and it Runs from there.
     
  9. 2017/04/19
    Bearclaw

    Bearclaw Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2010/12/09
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    yes, the Default folder for downloads via Firefox is the Download folder. You can change that if you wish by going to the TOOLS tab then OPTIONS, the second item is where you can enter a new place.
     
  10. 2017/04/20
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,461
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Have you tried running SFC to see if you have corrupted files?
     

Share This Page