1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Deleting history in IE 8

Discussion in 'Internet Explorer & Microsoft Edge' started by brimis, 2010/08/07.

  1. 2010/08/07
    brimis

    brimis Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/09/13
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Good afternoon, any idea as to why the browsing history is not being deleted in IE 8? I've cleared it several times from the internet options general tab browsing history, but each time I click the down arrow in the address bar, all history is still available.
    Thank you
     
  2. 2010/08/07
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    The method you describe deletes the browsing history from the Fovourites History tab.

    To delete entries from the Address Bar dropdown list individually move your cursor over an entry and click on the red x

    To remove them all Tools > Internet Options > Content > Autocomplete > Settings > Delete Autocomplete history - choose what to delete.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2010/08/07
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,552
    Likes Received:
    469
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    Hi brimis. If IE8 isn't deleting your history properly then you can try downloading ATF Cleaner and delete your history using that application.
     
  5. 2010/08/07
    brimis

    brimis Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/09/13
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Something is goofy, I did the procedure PeteC suggested and the ATF Cleaner and the history is present in address bar drop down list. Also when I click on the red X, the addresses are deleted, but then reappear.
     
    Last edited: 2010/08/07
  6. 2010/08/07
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    If you select 'Preserve Favourites' they will not be deleted from the Address Bar dropdown list.
     
  7. 2010/08/07
    brimis

    brimis Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/09/13
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Preserves favorite website data is unchecked.
     
  8. 2010/08/07
    PeteC

    PeteC SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/05/10
    Messages:
    28,625
    Likes Received:
    357
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Staffordshire, UK
    Computer Experience:
    Usually not enough
    You are not the only one with this problem .....

    ie 8 browser history will not clear

    Proposed solutions worked for some posters and not for others. I can only suggest you read through and try some of the solutions offered.
     
  9. 2010/08/10
    brimis

    brimis Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2006/09/13
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    108
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
  10. 2010/08/10
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,552
    Likes Received:
    469
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
    I am glad that were able to get your issue resolved. :)

    Since this issue is now resolved please mark this thread as 'Resolved'.

     

Share This Page