1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Creepy sounds coming from computer(s)

Discussion in 'General Discussions' started by basketcase, 2016/10/19.

1. 2016/10/19
    basketcase Contributing Member

basketcase Well-Known Member Thread Starter

We (my wife and I) share a home office. We work on separate desktop computers. Mine is running on Windows 10 Pro and hers is still on Windows 7 Pro.

One of our computers is making a "creaky door opening" sound. Unfortunately it happens randomly so I can't get into position to listen at a given moment to catch which computer or what triggers it.

So what's up with that? It reminds me of one of the old messaging deals (can't recall which one) that made a similar sound when a contact came on or went offline.

My wife is an accountant by trade and I stay off of her unit unless I'm doing maintenance, so I've not yet had an opportunity to shut down one and give a day to listening to the other, or vice-versa.

That said, I don't think either of us has any kind of messaging service running in the background.

How can I get to the bottom of the source for this strange sound business?

2. 2016/10/19
    Steve R Jones

Steve R Jones SuperGeek Staff

Is it random but happens many times an hour - thus worth putting some effort into this?

Shutting down one pc sure seems like the logical thing to do. And you're sure it isn't coming through the speakers?

3. to hide this advert.

4. 2016/10/19

Thanks. A process of elimination can certainly help.

It seems to happen after I log on early in the day, and I tend to awaken - clock or no clock, around 4:00 am each morning so I'm going to start by shutting down hers.

5. 2016/10/19
    retiredlearner

retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member