1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Computer Shutoff

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by KennyV19, 2018/09/11.

  1. 2018/09/11
    KennyV19

    KennyV19 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/09/27
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    My Windows 7 Pro computer started to shut down for no reason while using. I have also had an issue at initial startup where my monitor shows a set of lines but does not complete loading forcing me to power off then try again.

    I'm guessing maybe the power supply is or is going bad?

    Any chance it could be motherboard of power switch related?

    Open to any and all suggestions!
     
  2. 2018/09/12
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    Not likely the power switch. If your case has a Reset button, you could swap the leads going to the motherboard with the power switch leads then use the Reset button and see if the same the problem. Be sure to unplug the computer from the wall and touch bare metal of the case interior BEFORE reaching in to discharge any static in your body. And while in there, press on all data and power cables to make sure those connections are tight and make sure the interior is clean of heat trapping dust.

    It could be the motherboard but since EVERYTHING inside the computer depends on good clean stable power, it is just basic troubleshooting common sense to make sure you are providing good clean stable power before spending money on anything else. So I would swap in another, known good power supply just to see if the problem goes away, or not.
     
    Bill,
    #2

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2018/09/12
    KennyV19

    KennyV19 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/09/27
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
  5. 2018/09/13
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    That's a nice one for sure!
     
    Bill,
    #4
  6. 2018/09/14
    KennyV19

    KennyV19 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/09/27
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Bill, could the problem lie with the actual graphics card and not the PSU? I can get a brand new replacement GPU for $20.
     
  7. 2018/09/15
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    Sure. But the actual graphics card could be causing problems because it is not getting good power too! So again, you need to eliminate your PSU from the equation. Wait until your new PSU arrives and is installed before second guessing what might be wrong.
     
    Bill,
    #6
  8. 2018/09/17
    KennyV19

    KennyV19 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/09/27
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    installed the new PSU and did have the initial startup lines across my monitor that required a shutdown and restart. haven't yet had it turn off on me. looking like maybe a graphics issue???
     
  9. 2018/09/17
    KennyV19

    KennyV19 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/09/27
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I put the old PSU back in. I should of just left everything the way it was as this turned into another fiasco. Now my Win 7 won't shutdown when I choose this. The hard drive and monitor shut off but the PSU keeps on running forcing me to shut the power off to the PSU.

    Any idea on this, Bill? I'm about ready to scrap this POS and buy another system! Computer LX, garbage!
     
  10. 2018/09/17
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,923
    Likes Received:
    337
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    There must be something running in the background?
    You may need to ask Broni for help.
     
  11. 2018/09/18 at 08:28
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    You need to check your power option settings. Drives will spin down when not being accessed and monitors will go into sleep mode on their own.

    Are you saying when you go through the Start menu and select Shutdown, the PSU doesn't?
     
  12. 2018/09/19 at 15:02
    KennyV19

    KennyV19 Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2012/09/27
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    201
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Bill, it started shutting down as it should all by itself today. I made no changes! Makes no sense to me at all! :)
    If I were to replace the graphics cared with the exact same card but made by another manufacturer, would it be a simple swap out without any issues or will I run into a problem?
     
  13. 2018/09/20 at 10:26
    Bill

    Bill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2002/01/11
    Messages:
    2,847
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Built. Broke. Fixed.
    o_O If made by another manufacturer, then it is NOT the exact same card!
    It is not uncommon for problems to eventually work themselves out - especially after a couple reboots.
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.