1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Can't Access Bottom Controls of Window

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by virginia, 2016/12/15.

  1. 2016/12/15
    virginia Lifetime Subscription

    virginia Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Helping a friend who made some changes to try to increase the overall appearance of his computer. He doesn't remember exactly what he did but the screen resolution is at maximum dpi. There are two other choices but when I select one of them, I can't see the bottom of the window to select "Apply". I have worked around this before on other Windows versions but I'm stumped on this one. Any suggestions?
     
  2. 2016/12/15
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,455
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Hi Robert, you've got the Thread in Vista Forum. Is this the friends OS or your system? Is this what you have tried?
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2016/12/15
    virginia Lifetime Subscription

    virginia Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    The friend's system is Vista. And yes, I tried changing the screen resolution. The problem is, I can't get to the "Apply" or "Save Changes" buttons at the bottom of the screen. I plan to take a larger monitor over tomorrow to see if that might make a difference although I don't think it will.
     
  5. 2016/12/15
    Evan Omo

    Evan Omo Computer Support Technician Staff

    Joined:
    2006/09/10
    Messages:
    7,590
    Likes Received:
    471
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Walnut Creek, California, United States
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate+
  6. 2016/12/16
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    Most times Apply is highlighted and you can't see it. Have you hit Enter to see what it does?
     
  7. 2016/12/16
    ephemarial

    ephemarial Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2002/02/26
    Messages:
    392
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Computer Experience:
    depends
    Press alt + space.
    Select move from the menu and then use the arrow keys or mouse to reposition the window.

    If move on the menu is grayed out then the window is maximized and won’t move.
    Select restore from the menu and then try again.
     
  8. 2016/12/16
    virginia Lifetime Subscription

    virginia Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2002/01/07
    Messages:
    936
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    Springfield, VA
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Thanks for all the suggestions. Mr. Bill's suggestion -
    did the trick. I thought I had tried that but apparently not. All is well now.
     
  9. 2016/12/16
    MrBill

    MrBill SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2006/01/14
    Messages:
    3,794
    Likes Received:
    218
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Baker, Florida (Panhandle)
    Computer Experience:
    Inter and still lear
    Good to hear. Been there done that and didn't even get a T-Shirt. :eek:
     

Share This Page