1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Cannot print e mails from Outlook Express 6

Discussion in 'Microsoft Mail (Outlook / OE / Windows Mail)' started by Snowdrop, 2014/01/24.

  1. 2014/01/24
    Snowdrop Lifetime Subscription

    Snowdrop Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/03/10
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    UNITED KINGDOM
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    OUTLOOK EXPRESS 6 with SERVICE PACK 3 INSTALLED ON WINDOWS XP

    I recently set up my Kindle Fire HD to receive my e mails which meant changing
    the e mail format to IMAP since then I can no longer print my e mails from computer.
    I have HP Deskjet 3050A printer and everything else is printing fine.I did copy my e mail and put it on notepad and could print it from there fine but obviously I do not want to have to use notepad every time I need to print an e mail.

    Be grateful of any help please.:)
     
  2. 2014/01/24
    Steve R Jones

    Steve R Jones SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    11,866
    Likes Received:
    178
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    What happens/doesn't happen when you try to print an email?

    Do you get any error messages etc??
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2014/01/25
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,699
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Did you reconfigure Outlook Express 6 to use IMAP instead of POP3?
     
  5. 2014/01/26
    Snowdrop Lifetime Subscription

    Snowdrop Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/03/10
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    UNITED KINGDOM
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Hi Steve when I try to print an e mail I click on file and then print but nothing happens. Have tried right clicking and printing from there but still nothing happens.Have tried going to edit selecting all and print but still nothing happens.
    I receive and send all e mails ok. I set this account up with a Plus Net adviser so it is recon figured I guess. I can print fine from any other programme.
     
  6. 2014/01/26
    Snowdrop Lifetime Subscription

    Snowdrop Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/03/10
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    UNITED KINGDOM
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Yes Doc I set this account up with a Plus Net adviser so guess it is reconfigured.Checked the account and everything seems set up correctly and I do send and receive e mails from there with no problems.
     
  7. 2014/01/26
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,764
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    Just because the Kindle is set for imap does not mean that OE must be imap. Change it back and set the Kindle to use pop instead. And set both to "leave copy of messages on server ".
     
  8. 2014/01/26
    SpywareDr

    SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2005/12/31
    Messages:
    3,699
    Likes Received:
    335
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Maryland, USA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Try stopping and restarting the spooler by getting to a cmd prompt and typing in the following two commands:

    net stop spooler
    net start spooler​
     
  9. 2014/02/19
    Snowdrop Lifetime Subscription

    Snowdrop Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/03/10
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    UNITED KINGDOM
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    I have now resolved this problem set it back to POP as advised by Tony thank you all very much for your help.

    (ps Sorry Steve I had forgot to mark it as resolved!!!)
     
    Last edited: 2014/02/19

Share This Page