1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Brave Browser Now Available

Discussion in 'General Internet' started by James Martin, 2017/11/26.

  1. 2017/11/26
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
  2. 2017/11/26
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    Heard about it just now !
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2017/11/26
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    It's a sizeable download (133 MB).

    I just installed the Android version on my phone, and it is outperforming Firefox for the moment.
     
  5. 2017/11/27
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Quantum is working fast for me.
     
  6. 2017/11/28
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    Not a big fan of Quantum for the moment. They dropped support for RoboForm's toolbar, so now it's treated as an extension - which means extra mouse-click time. Quantum seems to be faster than the previous Firefox format, but it is not as fast as Brave on Android. Haven't tried Brave on the desktop yet, and there's no use trying it on the laptop until I replace the drive.
     
  7. 2017/11/30
    Admin.

    Admin. Administrator Administrator Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Birkirkara, Malta
    Computer Experience:
    ***
    I've been using Brave on my phone for a while now, not for speed, more for privacy & blocking stuff
     
  8. 2017/12/01
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    I know this is a Brave thread, but after updating to Firefox Quantum on the desktop, Outlook 2007 would not open links for some unknown reason. I recovered a recent image, and I will stay with Firefox 56 for the time being, although I thought about installing the extended support version instead.

    I hope Brave includes support for RoboForm in the near future. If not, maybe I could switch to Waterfox.

    I am not a big fan of Quantum for the moment. I have to do too much extra clicking (besides Roboform) to get things done. I hope Mozilla knows what they're doing. There's a lot of unhappy campers out there.
     
  9. 2017/12/02
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    It took me about 5 minutes to get used to the new layout in Quantum and it works real quick and OK for me on all my comps.
    Some people don't like change.
     
  10. 2017/12/02
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    147
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    Me neither but it's inevitable. So embrace it instead of fighting it.
     
  11. 2017/12/03
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    I'll embrace it later. :D

    Right now, I'm satisfied to stay with 56 due to Roboform. 56 is a much better layout anyway. Can't figure out why Mozilla keeps moving the steering wheel, gas, and brake pedals, so to speak.
     
  12. 2017/12/10 at 21:26
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    I've also installed Waterfox, and I'll be using it as the default browser since it supports Roboform as well. Waterfox is a tad quicker than Firefox too.
     
  13. 2017/12/12 at 22:47
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,466
    Likes Received:
    295
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    FF Quantum speed tests show it is slightly faster than Chrome in most areas. Waterfox probably hasn't got as many bells and whistles, so will be as quick as Quantum.
     

Share This Page