1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Anyone Here Use Macrium Reflect?

Discussion in 'Other PC Software' started by James Martin, 2018/04/10.

  1. 2018/04/10
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,621
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    I'm trying to restore a Macruim-created image stored on a network drive, but when I boot from the Macrium rescue disc (uses Windows PE) the network drive is not listed.

    So far, I haven't found any information to explain why.
     
  2. 2018/04/14
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,621
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    Is it a bad idea to restore an image via a network drive anyway?

    Creating the images this way was easy enough.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2018/04/15
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    I am not using Macrium reflect but AMOEI Backupper.

    I have successfully backed up/restored images to & from network drives. Maybe something is missing in Macrium.
     
    James Martin likes this.
  5. 2018/04/15
    antik

    antik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2008/01/15
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    233
    Location:
    USA Pacific
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    James Martin likes this.
  6. 2018/04/24
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,621
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    Thanks, guys, and thanks for link too!

    I eventually found some Toshiba recovery media, although I think it was meant for a different Satellite model. All seem well for now with no Windows 7 activation issues, and the device manager looks OK, too, but I am running into a few quirks on occasions. Since the recovery, I managed to locate USB-installed recovery files that do match this machine, so may give it try if need be.

    Now that I have a new Seagate drive, I installed Disk Wizard (powered by Acronis), and I backed up a new image to a network drive.

    My biggest beef in all of this is installing Windows 7 security-only files "one-at-a-time". Is there a batch or script file available to install the updates all at once? I image you folks in the computer repair business opt for security and quality rollups instead?
     
  7. 2018/04/26
    Christer

    Christer Geek Member Staff

    Joined:
    2002/12/17
    Messages:
    6,059
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Sweden
    Computer Experience:
    I'm trying!
    I would install in order:

    Servicing stack update for Windows 7 SP1 and Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1: September 20, 2016 (prerequisite for the following update)

    Convenience rollup update for Windows 7 SP1 and Windows Server 2008 R2 SP1 (includes most updates that were released after the release of SP1 through April 2016)

    April 10, 2018—KB4093118 (Monthly Rollup) (currently the most recent edition)

    After that, I would run Windows Update to find out what is missing. I don't install optional updates unless I know that the system needs a specific one.
     
  8. 2018/04/26
    Christer

    Christer Geek Member Staff

    Joined:
    2002/12/17
    Messages:
    6,059
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    Sweden
    Computer Experience:
    I'm trying!
  9. 2018/05/15
    felicityblue

    felicityblue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2014/09/09
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    No, we don't use Macrium. We have a fully-functional, free version of AOMEI. Its almost the same as Macrium Reflect.
     
  10. 2018/05/15
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,621
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    Will the free version restore from a network drive?
     
  11. 2018/05/15
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    Free version of AOMEI does backup/restore to NAS/network drive.
     
  12. 2018/05/17
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,621
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    I just recently installed AOMEI on a fresh install of Windows, and I imaged the drive onto a network drive. I then booted off the recovery media, and I had no trouble finding the stored image. My only beef so far is not being able to create bootable media onto a USB flash drive. AOMEI said the process completed OK, but the USB drive was totally blank. This happened with both Windows PE and Linux options.
     
    Last edited: 2018/05/18
  13. 2018/05/18
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,846
    Likes Received:
    148
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    I use recovery CD & not USB. Better post on AOMEI forum.
     
  14. 2018/05/18
    James Martin

    James Martin Geek Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2003/05/15
    Messages:
    2,621
    Likes Received:
    77
    Trophy Points:
    743
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Computer Experience:
    e-Machine mechanic
    AOMEI has a nice interface. I can see myself using it if the free version of Acronis (Seagate Disk Wizard, etc.) is not available.
     
  15. 2018/05/19 at 02:27
    felicityblue

    felicityblue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    2014/09/09
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    81
    Computer Experience:
    Intermediate
    Yes, it can back and restore from a network drive.
     

Share This Page