1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Administrator Yes or No

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by howardparsons, 2018/06/04.

  1. 2018/06/04
    howardparsons Lifetime Subscription

    howardparsons Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/01/22
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Charlottesville, VA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Hi,
    I'm trying to update some software on my Windows 10 machine. I'll get an error like the one below:
    2018-06-04_15-11-41.jpg

    I go to the directory mentioned in the message & try to move/delete/rename the offending file. I then get the following message:
    2018-06-04_15-12-17.jpg

    At this point, I go to User Accounts & see the following:
    2018-06-04_15-43-53.jpg

    I am the Administrator but Windows 10 thinks otherwise.

    What's going on here?

    Thanks,
    Howard Parsons
     
  2. 2018/06/04
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,878
    Likes Received:
    327
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Hi Howard, in W10 > Start > scroll down to Windows System > RIGHT click on Command Prompt > Yes to UAC > then enter your program file as per your 1st. screenshot.
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2018/06/04
    howardparsons Lifetime Subscription

    howardparsons Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/01/22
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Charlottesville, VA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Command Prompt offered no UAC option.
     
  5. 2018/06/04
    rsinfo

    rsinfo SuperGeek Alumni

    Joined:
    2005/12/25
    Messages:
    3,852
    Likes Received:
    149
    Trophy Points:
    843
    Location:
    New Delhi, India
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced but ! en
    Was this computer a part of domain at any time ? Is this a new computer or pre-owned ?
     
  6. 2018/06/05
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,785
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    The owner of that file is probably "System". You'll need to take ownership of it to delete it.
     
  7. 2018/06/05
    howardparsons Lifetime Subscription

    howardparsons Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/01/22
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Charlottesville, VA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    Never been part of a domain. I've owned this PC since it came from the factory.
     
  8. 2018/06/05
    howardparsons Lifetime Subscription

    howardparsons Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/01/22
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Charlottesville, VA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    No joy. It says that I'm the owner.
    2018-06-05_9-45-59.jpg
     
  9. 2018/06/05
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,785
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
  10. 2018/06/05
    howardparsons Lifetime Subscription

    howardparsons Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/01/22
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Charlottesville, VA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
  11. 2018/06/05
    TonyT

    TonyT SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2002/01/18
    Messages:
    8,785
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    Computer Experience:
    echo $experienced;
    Not just bitdefender, other apps and antivirus interfere with updating according to the post.
     
  12. 2018/06/05
    howardparsons Lifetime Subscription

    howardparsons Well-Known Member Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2009/01/22
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    231
    Location:
    Charlottesville, VA
    Computer Experience:
    Experienced
    OK. I'll have a look.
     
  13. 2018/06/05
    retiredlearner

    retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

    Joined:
    2004/06/25
    Messages:
    5,878
    Likes Received:
    327
    Trophy Points:
    1,093
    Location:
    New Zealand
    Computer Experience:
    intermediate
    Sorry Howard missed the following:
    Hi Howard, in W10 > Start > scroll down to Windows System > RIGHT click on Command Prompt > More > Run as Administrator > Yes to UAC > then enter your program file as per your 1st. screenshot.
     

Share This Page