1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Windows Vista About command line

Discussion in 'Legacy Windows' started by satimis, 2010/02/26.

  1. 2010/02/26
    satimis

    satimis Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2007/04/15
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi folks,


    Windows Vista


    IIRC command to disable/enable popup:
    Code:
    User Account Control (UAC)
    
    Windows needs your permission ......
    
    To Disable UAC
    Code:
    C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /k %windir%\System32\reg.exe ADD HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System /v EnableLUA /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f
    

    To Enable UAC
    Code:
        C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /k %windir%\System32\reg.exe ADD HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Policies\System /v EnableLUA /t REG_DWORD /d 1 /f
    
    It is NOT easy to recall the exact path correctly. Is there a shorter command to be run on "Command Prompt" without the full path to do the same job?


    Furthermore on creating a new user account running;
    Code:
    C: Net user AAA password
    C: Net user AAA /active:yes (can this command be omitted ?)
    
    Is there a flag stopping the user having privilege as Administrator ?


    TIA

    B.R.
    satimis


    P.S. Would it be the same as in Windows 7 and Windows Server 2008
     
  2. 2010/02/26
    Steve R Jones

    Steve R Jones SuperGeek Staff

    Joined:
    2001/12/30
    Messages:
    12,315
    Likes Received:
    252
    Have you considered going into Conrol Panel to turn on/off User Access?
     

  3. to hide this advert.

  4. 2010/02/26
    satimis

    satimis Inactive Thread Starter

    Joined:
    2007/04/15
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Steve,

    Thanks for your response.

    If I can't find an easy way I have to follow the traditional method.

    Running command on "Command Prompt" to do a job is robust and simple.

    E.G.
    Net user administrator mypasswd
    Net user administrator /active:yes

    Two lines create an administrator's account assigning him/her a password as well, rather than clicking around with mouse pointer on screen. Unfortunately I haven't discovered many of them on Internet in this respect.

    B.R.
    satimis
     

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.