1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

How do I convert an .rtf file to .jpg, .png, .gif or other image extension

Discussion in 'Legacy Windows' started by Nuts4Mutts, 2014/07/04.

1. 2014/07/04
    Nuts4Mutts

Nuts4Mutts Inactive Thread Starter

Hi! "Happy Independence Day "!!!
    I'm trying to avoid posting a poem, (in an .rtf file), on Facebook, but I want to post it on Photobucket or Tinypic so my friends can read it. I tried unsuccessfully to upload it, but neither site takes an .rtf file.
    Is there a way to convert the .rtf extension to an image file...like.jpg, & if so, will you please explain the procedure to me?
    If there's another way to accomplish this, I'm open to any suggestions.
    Please use LOTS of details, as I'm not very technically inclined.
    Thanks for reading my post!
    Gratefully,
    Nuts4Mutts :)

2. 2014/07/04
    PeteC

PeteC SuperGeek Staff

Nuts4Mutts likes this.

3. to hide this advert.

4. 2014/07/04
    Nuts4Mutts

Thanks PeteC!
    I'll check it out. Am I to assume that changing this type of file extension can only be done by using a Program? Isn't there a way, within Windows OS, to do it?
    Thanks again! :)

5. 2014/07/04
    PeteC

PeteC SuperGeek Staff

Not directly AFAIK - you have a text file which is an entirely different format to an image file.

A solution would be to print out the .rtf and then scan it to jpeg - assuming that you have a flat bed scanner of course :)

6. 2014/07/04
    ThomasJK

ThomasJK Well-Known Member

Hi Nutts4Mutts,

Is that .rtf document of yours multiple pages, or does it fit on one page, if its a poem?
    If it fits entirely on your screen, you could try pressing ctrl + Print Screen, start MS Paint, and right click, paste it on Paint, then you can edit it, and save it as .jpg .png .gif.