1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved 64-bit Win7 Pro no longer opens Windows Explorer on startup

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by JSS3rd, 2015/06/27.

1. 2015/06/27
    JSS3rd Lifetime Subscription

JSS3rd Geek Member Thread Starter

I've been using 64-bit Win7 Pro SP1 for a little over three years. I work primarily from the Start Menu and from within Windows Explorer, so I've always had Explorer open on startup, as seen in the first screenshot, using the switches /n, /e and, until the last couple of days, there's never been a problem.

Now, the switches no longer work. If I remove them, Explorer opens as shown in the second screenshot. I can accomplish what I want from the keyboard using Winkey + e, but I'd prefer to have Explorer open by itself. I have shortcuts on the Desktop and in the Start Menu that incorporate the switches, but they no longer work either.

I have a five day old Acronis backup of the C: drive which was created before the problem began. I just installed it, hoping that it would solve the problem, but no joy.

EDIT: I should have added that my system is completely clean of malware, spyware, and viruses.

Any ideas?

Attached Files:

Last edited: 2015/06/27
  2. 2015/06/27
    retiredlearner

retiredlearner SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

Hi Jim, have you had any MS updates or new software lately? Neil.

3. to hide this advert.

4. 2015/06/28

Hi Neil,

No new software except the upgrade to MBAM, and the only MS updates are the regular updates to Security Essentials, which never have been a problem in the past. FWIW, the problem began before the MBAM upgrade.

5. 2015/06/28
    SpywareDr

SpywareDr SuperGeek WindowsBBS Team Member

Try this:
    1. Move your current explorer shortcut from your Startup folder into your Recycle Bin.