1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Windows Backup: System image vs. File Backup vs. Both

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Frank D, 2012/08/26.

1. 2012/08/26
    Frank D

Frank D Inactive Thread Starter

I'm doing my first Windows Backup in Windows 7 Home Premium, 64-bit. I'm being given a choice between a "system image" or a "Windows Backup," the latter of which, if I read it correctly, includes both a file backup and a system image. This leaves me with questions.

For background, here is a quote from an MS Help article:

What is a system image?
    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/windows7/What-is-a-system-image

"Although this type of backup includes your personal files, we recommend that you back up your files regularly using Windows Backup so that you can restore individual files and folders as needed. "

I've never used Win7's backup before. Up to this point I've been an Acronis True Image Home backup user. The system image that ATIH creates (alone) can be viewed directly in Windows Explorer and files can be extracted and restored as desired, which is what I want. But I'm interpreting the MS help article to mean that I can't use just a (Windows Backup) system image to restore individual files, but that I also need a complete file backup to do so. What I really want to do, which Acronis does perfectly, is to do only a system backup so I can restore the whole Windows system if needed, and restore individual files when needed.

Question: Do I really need both types in Windows Backup? If I use Windows Backup do I need both a system image and a file backup in order to do what I could do in Acronis in one shot with just a system image? :confused:

Thanks,
    Frank D

2. 2012/08/26
    ianamal

ianamal Well-Known Member

Your right the latter does include both, always better to do this on another drive if possible!