1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

WinNT to Win2K Profile Problems

Discussion in 'Legacy Windows' started by Cliff, 2002/09/18.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 2002/09/18
    Cliff

Cliff Inactive Thread Starter

First off, let me say that I am not a PC pro so I'm a bit lost. Nor are we the MIS dept - we do not control the servers.

We are migrating end users from WinNT to W2K. Our MIS dept has set this up so that the same profile directory is used in both our WinNT domain and Win2K domain. To "convert" a user, we go into Active Directory Users and Computers and activate an account that has been set up. All users are "power users ".

Here's the problem: After activating the Win2K account and logging in through the W2K domain, some users are unable to do much of anything unless they are granted Administrator privileges. They cannot use any Office 2000 programs, use Outlook/Exchange, print, or retain desktop and other setting from one login to the next. When the same person is logged into our WinNT domain, using the exact same profile directory mind you on the same PC, there is no problem at all, (except that there is no access to the exchange server, but I'm told to expect that). If the person's privilege level is raised to Admin from Power User, then login to the Win2K domain goes fine and the person can function as normal.

When logging into the W2K domain with anything other than an Administrator privileges, the user gets these error messages:

In application log:

Event Type: Error
    Event Source: Winlogon
    Event Category: None
    Event ID: 1012
    Description:
    The automatic certificate enrollment subsystem could not access local resources needed for enrollment. Enrollment will not be performed. (0x80070005) Access is denied.

In system log:

Event Type: Error
    Event Source: DCOM
    Event Category: None