1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

What's The Best Internet Security?

Discussion in 'Security and Privacy' started by bluenose12, 2005/12/07.

1. 2005/12/07
    bluenose12

bluenose12 Inactive Thread Starter

I have been running Norton Internet Security for a few years now but I've been hearing that it uses a lot of system resources...is this true?
    I've been swithering whether to change,I have a choice of two to change to....

McAfee Internet Security

or

Zone Alarm Internet Security.

Can anyone tell me which would be the best one to use?

Or should I not try to fix what ain't broke and stick with Norton?

2. 2005/12/07
    Welshjim

Welshjim Inactive

bluenose12--Yes, NIS uses a lot of resources. But is that affecting your PC's performance?
    Cannot comment on the relative amount of resources used by other Security Systems. Though I have heard they require less.
    NIS usually gets fairly good marks in comparative tests.
    http://www.google.com/search?source...GLD:2004-31,GGLD:en&q=compare+security+suites
    For what it is worth, McAfee often can be bought for free at stores like Staples, Office Max, etc. after rebates. (You pay only tax and postage to mail in the rebate.). These are weekly specials from the Sunday newspapers. If you missed that you could look up here
    http://www.salescircular.com/
    Unfortunately, in my area, no specials on McAfee this week.
    I use Comcast as my ISP. They give away McAfee to their customers.
    And ZoneAlarm just sent me an email this AM offering their Security Suite for $20--a supposed $10 saving.
    Also you can make your own "Security Suite" for free.
    Antivirus--AVG or AntiVir
    Firewall--Zone Alarm. Sygate or Kerio
    AntiSpam--Mailwasher
    Spyware detector--AdAware. SpybotS&D, or MS AntiSpyware