1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Which disk imaging software to use?

Discussion in 'Windows Server System' started by Pierre E, 2005/10/23.

1. 2005/10/23
    Pierre E

Pierre E Inactive Thread Starter

Hi,

I'm trying to make a disk image of my company's Win2003 SBS server, but I'm unsure which program is good. My main concern is cost, as we are not likely to use it extensively, so I can't justify a solution that costs a thousand dollars. Anybody has any recommendations? I don't need anything fancy - just a disk imaging software.

2. 2005/10/24
    McTavish

McTavish Inactive

I’ve no experience of server backup but the best imaging software around at the moment is by a company called Paragon. They recently received Microsoft Gold Certification for their Drive Backup program. Their server edition is $399.
    http://www.drive-backup.com/corporate/server/index.htm

I’ve used several of their products over the last 6 years and always found it proficient and dependable.

3. to hide this advert.

4. 2005/10/24
    Scott Smith

Scott Smith Inactive Alumni

We use Veritas which has recently been bought by Symantec. But it aint cheap.

5. 2005/10/24
    ericiga

ericiga Inactive

We use Ghost by Symantec, but I'm not sure of the cost.

6. 2005/11/29
    Pierre E

Its funny that I'm replying to this thread after so long, but I've had to put my hunt for a disk imaging software on hold due to other work concerns.

I've checked out Paragon's Exact-Image 7.0, but I'm not entirely sure if it can do what I want, seeing as the demo does not allow any restore functions to be used.

I want to deploy an installation of Win2003 SBE. I read up on the procedures for sysprep, and it says the the image must be placed on a bootable startup media.