1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Can a bad monitor be fixed with a magnet?

Discussion in 'PC Hardware' started by tcd2000, 2004/10/27.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 2004/10/27
    tcd2000

tcd2000 Inactive Thread Starter

My monitor is starting to go bad in the upper left quadrant of the screen. A long time ago someone told me the way to fix the problem, was to take a strong magnet, start from the middle of the screen and move outward towards the edges. Supposedly this was supposed to do something magical and mystical storing your monitor back to normal. Has anyone ever heard of this?

2. 2004/10/27
    KevinSaul

KevinSaul Inactive

I don't know if there's anything magical but it called degausing. A lot of newer monitors have a built in deguaser. It basicaly clears static electricity. I've never done it with a magnet before. When I was in high school (I took electronics in a vocational school :eek: ) we used to use a soldering gun on color TV picture tubes, just held the trigger and waved it in front the screen. You could see the color bluring wherever you held it. That was more than 35 years ago and a lot of things have changed since then.

You might want to do a google search for "degausing" and get lots more information before trying it.

HTH

3. to hide this advert.

4. 2004/10/27
    mattman

mattman Inactive Alumni

Last edited: 2004/10/27
  5. 2004/10/27
    giles

giles Inactive

Hi tcd2000.

Can you describe exactly what is going wrong.

If you're experiencing color divergence then the monitor needs alignment.