1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

Resolved Configuration of modem, hub, router, clients

Discussion in 'Networking (Hardware & Software)' started by Ebmm, 2015/11/28.

1. 2015/11/28
    Ebmm

Ebmm Member Thread Starter

Hello all,
    I am new to networking and trying to learn as much as I can on my own at the moment. I will also begin my pursuit of a A.A.S. degree in Networking Technology come this spring of 2016.

My goal is to learn and understand network information with the aid of Wireshark and also keep an eye on my two teenagers and their browsing habits. I have somewhat of an idea regarding the hardware yet I am unsure the best way to implement it, hook it all up.

What we have in the house is a cable modem to a Belkin AC1600 router, 3-4 PCs that are wired and wireless (usually stay plugged into the CAT5E), two smart phones and two tablets. I have recently purchased a Linksys EtherFast EFAH05W 5-port hub with a uplink port.

How do I configure/connect the modem, hub and router to capture traffic on all devices; wired and wireless without any issues?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thx

Ebmm,
  2. 2015/11/28
    TonyT

TonyT SuperGeek Staff

3. to hide this advert.

4. 2015/11/29
    elcajongunsfan Lifetime Subscriber

elcajongunsfan Well-Known Member