1. You are viewing our forum as a guest. For full access please Register. WindowsBBS.com is completely free, paid for by advertisers and donations.

XP repair needed on old system

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by DPRsnow, 2014/09/26.

1. 2014/09/26
    DPRsnow

DPRsnow Inactive Thread Starter

Hello,
    I am not a beginner but not exactly intermediate user. I have a 10 year old sony vaio vgn-a790 laptop, it has never had any bios updates nor are any available.

I am using XP home with sp3 installed. I have either a virus, or possibly a power outage issue. I have a black screen that gives the choices to use last best known, safe mode, safe mode with networking, etc. None of which work if I choose one the system goes into an auto reboot. I don't get a blue screen with an error. I have stopped the reboot loop, but now the system just hangs on the logo screen. I also get a black screen with a bunch of lines of text that end with multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(2)\windows\system32\drivers\ mup.sys

I have tried several different softwares out there including hirens to try & fix but they don't play on my cd/dvd burner. I have the system set to boot from cd/dvd player. Should an iso img be burned with a certain cd and or speed?

I have a cd that I made years ago, I don't remember how or with what I created it, when I try to play it, it does go to the set up screen. When I press enter I get to an error that says can not find EULA. I have my product key and I don't get the screen that asks me to put that in.