Windows BBS The Place for Microsoft Windows Support! Windows, Support, Help Site

Go Back   Windows BBS > Security > General Security

General Security Post any general questions related to security, viruses or spyware here.

Register your FREE account to unlock additional features at WindowsBBS.com
Register
Welcome to WindowsBBS.com
Microsoft Windows Support

Mission Statement

WindowsBBS is an online community dedicated to easily accessible technical support for those using Microsoft operating systems and other Windows software.

Our goal is to become the leading resource for computer users that require assistance with their day-to-day computer usage, including full support for networking PC's, virus & malware removal, system upgrades and general support questions.


Discussion Forums
Operating Systems
Windows 7 Windows 7
Windows Vista Windows Vista
Windows XP Windows XP
Windows Server System Windows Server System
Windows 2000 Windows 2000
Windows 95/98/Me/NT Windows 95/98/Me/NT
Internet & Networking
Networking
Internet Explorer
Microsoft Mail
Firefox, Thunderbird
      & SeaMonkey

General Internet
Security
General Security
Malware and Virus
     Removal

Other
Other Software
Hardware
Test Posts
Community
Introductions
General Discussions
Comments
      & Suggestions

News @ WindowsBBS

Forum Sponsor
 Image

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 8th August 2002   #1
SuperGeek
 
Profile:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,072
Computer Experience:
What experience?
brett Reputation Level


Hacked!

Several sites (most recently ntlworld) have been hacked in a such a way as to cause a JavaScript popup reading:

"You have successfully installed your hard drive for
reformatting. When you restart your computer you must
reinstall your operating system"

If you encounter such a message, you need not do anything - it's completely harmless.

Seems that PocoMail have problems too!


Last edited by brett; 8th August 2002 at 00:10.
brett is offline  
Didn't find the information you thought to find?
Check out these Similar Threads
Old 8th August 2002   #2
Inactive
 
Profile:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dallas TX
Posts: 559
Computer Experience:
Experienced
Kevin Reputation Level


Cite?
Kevin is offline  
Old 8th August 2002   #3
SuperGeek
 
Profile:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,072
Computer Experience:
What experience?
brett Reputation Level


Cite the site? This one! Note the entry for 7 August. Or cite the source? First-hand experience!

Last edited by brett; 8th August 2002 at 18:23.
brett is offline  
Old 9th August 2002   #4
Banned
 
Profile:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Jersey Shore USA
Posts: 941
Computer Experience:
***
Alice Reputation Level


I got curious and did a groups.google search and came up with:

From: Jamil Karim (jamil.karim@NOSPAM.nwa.com)
Subject: Re: Mystry message
Newsgroups: microsoft.public.windows.inetexplorer.ie6.browser
Date: 2002-08-07 13:23:34 PST


Ron Reddon wrote:
> because I can't even find where it is loading from

I narrowed down the URL to:
http://ds2.idsales.co.uk/hserver/SITE=WEB.NTLWORLD

Which contains the following script:
<script language="JavaScript">
alert("You have succesfully configured your hard
drive for re-formatting. Next time You start
this computer you will need to re-install your
operating system.");
</script>

The script is obvious, it is just hidden off-site.

=)

Later,
Jamil Karim
Java/J2EE Developer

From: Barbarella (tar_ancalime@hotmail.com)
Subject: Mystry message
Newsgroups: microsoft.public.windows.inetexplorer.ie6.browser
Date: 2002-08-08 08:51:31 PST


I got that "horrifying" message last night too... I have now found out that it was not a virus or somebody trying to hack your computer and you can rest assured that it won't be affecting your system at all.

I am also with NTL World, and I have phoned them earlier on when they confirmed to me that their web site had been defaced with a java script that popped up for anyone who tried to access the NTL World web site at the time the message was there. Basically, their server had been breached, but they took the site down for a while last
night and corrected it, so this "fake" message will not be appearing any more.

I was really panicking last night, backing up everything onto CDs, doing various virus scans (which of course, we know now why, found nothing). Anyway, there you go. Just thought I'd let you know.

BTW, here's a link to the server status of NTL World, where you will see last night's disruption explained...

http://www.ntl-isp.ntl.com/lookup/default.asp


Last edited by Alice; 9th August 2002 at 15:01.
Alice is offline  



Closed Thread

Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:42.






Advertisements do not imply our endorsement of the product or service advertised.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Copyright © 2002 - 2009 WindowsBBS.com. All rights reserved.
Terms of Use, Legal Information & Privacy Policy
[]